Expert Advisory Board

Dr Cherrell Hirst AO   

Dr Cherrell Hirst AO commenced her career as a medical doctor where she gained a national reputation in the field of breast cancer screening and diagnosis as Director of the Wesley Breast Clinic (1984-2001).  However her commitment to the value of education took her to the Council of QUT where she served as Chancellor (1994-2004) and to the Brisbane Girls Grammar School Board of Trustees where she was Chair from 1996-2006 – both out-of-hours honorary roles.  Through her combined interests in cancer, science and research, Dr Hirst became increasingly involved in the Biotech industry.  She has been a director of a number of companies and has served on government grants committees during the last decade, and is now a part-time CEO of a venture fund in Biotech (Queensland BioCapital Fund). For this work over the longer term, she was elected to the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.  In addition she continues to serve on a number of corporate boards and not-for-profit entities.   

In recognition of her work in the fields of breast cancer and education, Dr Hirst has been awarded three honorary doctorates, a Centenary Medal in 2003 and the title of Officer of the Order of Australia in 1998.  She was named Queenslander of the Year in 1995.

Professor Robin Batterham AO   

Professor Robin Batterham AO is President of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, until recently was Group Chief Scientist, Rio Tinto Limited and is now Kernot Professor of Engineering at the University of Melbourne.  Within Rio Tinto, Professor Batterham has had senior responsibilities in R&D and Innovation.  He has had a distinguished career in research and technology, in the public and private sectors in areas such as mining, mineral processing, mineral agglomeration processes, and iron making.  Professor Robin Batterham was Chief Scientist to the Australian Federal Government from 1999 to 2005 and remains on the Prime Ministers Science, Engineering and Innovation Council.

He has been President of the Institution of Chemical Engineers and the International Network for Acid Prevention and is President of the International Mineral Processing Congress as well as chairing the Australia India Collaborative Research Fund. He chairs the International Energy Agency Expert Group on Science for Energy. He is an elected Fellow (or Foreign Fellow) of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Engineering, the Swiss Academy of Technological Sciences, the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering as well as Fellow of several learned societies.

Professor Batterham is also an organist giving regular recitals and broadcasts.

Dr Graham Mitchell AO   

Graham Mitchell AO is recognised as one of Australia’s leading biological scientists.  His expertise extends over a wide range of science and technology.  He has detailed knowledge of the academia-industry interface, has worked in many overseas countries and been involved with the World Health Organisation for many years.  He is an author of more that 350 publications, has received numerous awards for scientific achievements and, in 1993, was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia for services to science.

Dr Mitchell is an advisor on innovation to the Victorian Government.  In another government role the Principals of Foursight, including Mitchell, jointly act as Chief Scientist for the Departments of Primary Industries (DPI) and Sustainability and Environment (DSE). He is a non-executive director of Antisense Therapeutics Limited, Compumedics Limited, Avipep Pty Ltd, AgVic Services Pty Ltd, Adelaide Research and Innovation Pty Ltd, and The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (WEHI).  With Nossal, Penington and Stocker he has been a Principal of Foursight, an advisory service in science, technology, innovation and commercialisation, since 1996.

Professor Ron Quinn AM

Professor Ron Quinn was elected Fellow of the Australia Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering in 2003 and received the RACI Adrien Albert Award in 2004.  He initiated collaboration with AstraZeneca to explore natural products as potential drugs, and this collaboration is one of the largest industry/university collaborations in Australia, representing $100 million in industry investment.  He was appointed Director of the Eskitis Institute for Cell and Molecular Therapies in 2003.

Professor Louis Schofield

Professor Louis Schofield is an International Research Scholar of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and co-founder of Ancora Pharmaceuticals Inc.  He shares the Directorship of QTHA with his ongoing research work at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute.  A recognised authority in the immunology and pathogenesis of infectious diseases, he has reserach programs covering basic molecular sciences, product development and commercialisation, epidemiology and public health.  His approach to malaria has resulted in promising vaccine development programs and he is involved in clinical trials in Papua New Guinea and Africa.  He has published several key articles including in Nature and Science, and has received over 4,000 citations to date.

Dr Michael Wooldridge

Information coming soon.

web design by precedence